Book a reliable pre purchase inspection service in Canberra

Fill in a short form and find out more about the costs of pre purchase car inspection services

4.5

Excellent rating - 4.5/5 (9200+ reviews)

When you need to hire a mechanic to chec a used car

  • Pre purchase inspection
  • Car inspection
  • Used car inspection
  • Pre purchase van inspection
  • … or anything else
It only takes 2 minutes. And it's free.

Best rated pre-purchase car inspection specialists near me

Recent Pre Purchase Car Inspection reviews in Canberra

Legend! Great, easy to deal with. Super friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend.

Mechanic for Car Inspection

$75

Dre was super responsive, quick and thorough for my pre-purchase inspection , would highly recommend!

Pre purchase car inspection

$160

Great communicator, excellent feedback, would definitely recommend as a reliable Airtasker for pre-purchase inspections

I need pre purchase car inspection

$150

Looking forward.

Install car port on the deck, inspection only

$5

Paul was very professional and explained things too me. He checked the car thoroughly and found an issue that would have costed me a fortune to fix that I would have missed. I would highly recommend Paul to anyone who is looking to buy a car. I would not hesitate to use his service again.

Pre purchase car inspection

$150

Paul conducted a pre-purchase inspection. He was great! Gave me all the info I needed and was very thorough. Would recommend him for anyone looking to purchase a vehicle.

I need pre purchase car inspection

$150

What's the average cost of a pre-purchase car inspection specialist in Canberra

$127 - $177

low

$127

median

$150

high

$177

Low, median and high bar chart distribuiton

Average reviews for Pre Purchase Car Inspection Services in Canberra

based on 50 reviews

4.94

48
1
1
0
0
Now Available
  • Get it done now. Pay later.
  • Repay in 4 fortnightly instalments
  • No interest
  • Available on payments up to $1,500

Suggested reads about Pre Purchase Car Inspection

  • How much does a car inspection cost?

    Read more

What does a pre purchase car inspection include?

Cars are usually sold with a roadworthy certificate, but this only means your car is safe to drive on public roads. A pre-purchase car inspection is the only way to make sure there are no surprises when you drive away. A qualified mechanic will do a visual inspection, mechanical check, and test drive to spot any current or potential problems. They will also be aware of concerns that might be typical for the make or model of the car you’re buying and look specifically for those issues. Your mechanic will usually follow a comprehensive pre-purchase car inspection checklist to help you make an informed decision about buying the car. Some of these checks will include:

Exterior inspection

The outside of a car is a good indication of how well the car has been looked after. Panel damage or evidence of repaired damage could indicate the car has been in a serious accident. A pre-purchase car inspection will show whether repairs have been performed to a satisfactory standard. An exterior check also includes checks for rust and structural integrity as these issues may cause problems down the track.

Interior inspection

Your mechanic will conduct a visual inspection of the car’s interior, starting with seats and door trims. Then they’ll check all features inside the car operate normally, including lights, seats, seat belts, air conditioning, central locking, wipers, and windows. Next, they’ll check the dashboard instruments and gauges.

Mechanical inspection

Hidden mechanical problems are one of the pitfalls of buying a used car. And there’s no way of finding out the full extent of any car problems without pulling the engine apart. But an experienced mechanic can identify issues from just a visual check of the underbody and engine. Serious mechanical problems may also show themselves in other areas of the car. Brakes, suspension, wheels, tyres, gearbox, and steering will be checked, and a test drive will help to identify any additional concerns. Your mechanic will pay attention to electrical and cooling systems, as well as the alternator and battery. They will run a diagnostic scan to identify any other issues.

History check

You can make sure your new purchase isn’t hiding any secrets, and that it’s not at risk of repossession by including a history check as part of your pre-purchase car inspection. A history check (or REVS check) show any finance owing on the vehicle, if the car has been stolen, or whether it’s been in a major accident and written off. These records are kept and attached to your car’s vehicle identification number (VIN).

Recent Pre Purchase Car Inspection tasks in Canberra

Pre-purchase inspection of used car Alfa Romeo spark

$200

Narrabundah ACT, Australia

20th Jan 2023

To check if car is lemon, or to estimate any immediately needed repairs or maintenance. - Due date: Flexible

Pre purchase car inspection

$150

MacGregor ACT, Australia

11th Jan 2023

I want to get a car inspected in canberra I want detailed report of all these info All Lights Body Condition Wheels and Tyres Door Locks Window Operation Washers and Wipers Engine noises Exhaust System Suspension Steering Differential Transmission Fuel System Hand Brake Radiator and Cap Battery Drive Belts, Pulleys Fluid Levels Fluid or Oil Leaks Hoses and Pipes Water Pump Fan Wheel Bearings Drive Shafts / CV Joints Seat Belts Horn Dash/Warning Lights Gauges - Due date: Needs to be done on Thursday, 12 January 2023

Pre purchase inspection

$300

Curtin ACT 2605, Australia

10th Jan 2023

I want to get a car looked at before purchasing and need it done Urgently - Due date: Before Wednesday, 11 January 2023

Pre-purchase car inspection

$175

Fyshwick ACT, Australia

9th Jan 2023

1991 Toyota Landcruiser in Fyshwick. The dealer says that it's perfect, but of course they do.I live in Qld, so I need someone who knows what they're doing to go look at this car for rust and any current or incumbent mechanical issues. - Due date: Needs to be done on Tuesday, 10 January 2023

Pre-purchase car inspection

$120

Belconnen ACT, Australia

27th Dec 2022

Needing to inspect a 2008 Kia Carnival before pre-purchase so a full synopsis of the engine, interior and exterior report and any vehicle history. Ideally want it done Wednesday or Thursday this week 27th or 28th December. - Due date: Needs to be done on Wednesday, 28 December 2022

Car pre purchase inspection

$150

Mitchell ACT, Australia

15th Dec 2022

Need an pre purchase inspection for 2013 Mazda 3 neo at 10.30am - Due date: Needs to be done on Friday, 16 December 2022

Need to do pre purchase vehicle inspection.

$150

Belconnen ACT, Australia

7th Dec 2022

Hi there This is me Deepak. I really need your assistance in buying a car from market place. Previously, I bought 2 cars from Facebook market and I got robbed as both of those car had serious engine problems and couldn’t last for 6 months. I already lost huge money on it. This time, I want to make sure I get the car that is in good condition mechanically. Recently, I am interested in one car in Facebook marketplace which is Toyota Aurion 2010 auto and had 260ks on clock. The owner wants $6500 for it which is little fair in respect to current market price for that car. However, I want to have pre inspection of it and if it passes all those requirements I will definitely buy it. So I need your assistance on it as I don’t have good knowledge on cars. Can you provide me your service details and fee ? Also the available time period so I can arrange this inspection. Thanks

Pre purchase vehicale mechanical inspection

$150

Fyshwick ACT, Australia

23rd Nov 2022

Car is located with Allbids in Fyshwick, not possible to drive the car but looking for a thorough mechanical inspection. Needs to be done before 5pm this afternoon, I had a mobile mechanic lined up but they are not able to do it now.

Very knowledgable & provided great advice - very happy to recommend Paul!

Pre purchase car inspection

$150

Palmerston ACT 2913, Australia

20th Nov 2022

Need a pre purchase report of the car and need to check everything in it. Also test drive it and check the tires as owner said needs to be changed. Check the engine and everything as well - Due date: Needs to be done on Monday, 21 November 2022

Pre-purchase car inspection

$230

Macquarie ACT, Australia

16th Nov 2022

Inspecting a 2014 Audi A4 Quattro 2.0TDI with a 134,000 km odometer at Subway Macquarie Shops. The current car owner is Uday Achalla. Depending on the time of the inspection, I may not be able to make it due to work commitments so I kindly request a report on the mechanical issues of the car. - Due date: Before Saturday, 19 November 2022

Pre-purchase car inspection

$120

Ngunnawal ACT, Australia

13th Nov 2022

The car is 2012 Mazda 3 Sedan, bought through a private seller - Due date: Before Thursday, 17 November 2022

Car inspection- Pre-purchase

$100

Crace ACT, Australia

5th Nov 2022

Would like a qualified and licensed car mechanic to inspect a second hand car located in Crace, ACT on Monday. Would like to receive detailed information on the car as I am located in Sydney. Thanks - Due date: Needs to be done on Monday, 7 November 2022

Pre-purchase camper trailer inspection

$200

Deakin ACT, Australia

31st Oct 2022

I'm inspecting a used camper trailer to purchase in the Deakin, ACT area tomorrow (2/11/2022) at 11:30am. I'm looking for a qualified mechanic or expert to attend and check the trailer over, chassis, body, etc for signs of rust, maintenance issues, anything I should be aware of before purchase. It's currently unregistered, so I'm keen to have confidence I won't have too many issues putting it over the pits to get it re-rego'd. - Due date: Needs to be done on Wednesday, 2 November 2022

Pre - purchase car inspection

$150

Conder ACT, Australia

18th Oct 2022

I am looking to purchase a car from a private seller and would like to ensure it is all mechanically sound. Car is at sellers address but he is happy for me to arrange an inspection. - Due date: Needs to be done on Wednesday, 19 October 2022

Thankyou so much for your thorough and efficient inspection Jason. Really appreciate your help and trust your experience!

Pre car inspection

$150

Bonner ACT 2914, Australia

18th Oct 2022

Honda Jazz 2003 at Bonner ACT

Excellent work. Good advice. Highly recommended.

Pre-purchase car inspection

$150

Fyshwick ACT, Australia

11th Oct 2022

Pre-purchase inspection of used car before I make a trade - Due date: Needs to be done on Wednesday, 12 October 2022

Pre-purchase vehicle inspection

$100

Fisher ACT, Australia

24th Sep 2022

Need someone to provide a vehicle condition report on a vehicle that I'm interested in purchasing.

Car inspection

$50

Mitchell ACT, Australia

23rd Sep 2022

Prepurchase car inspection - Due date: Flexible

Second hand car inspection

$130

Wanniassa ACT, Australia

22nd Sep 2022

I need to inspect a second hand car. What’s included in your service. ?

Car inspection

$200

Kambah ACT, Australia

16th Aug 2022

Purchasing an older van. Would like an inspection done. - Due date: Flexible

Excellent service! Prompt and thorough.