You're on our Australian site!

20 Pre Purchase Car Inspectors in Canberra

Receive no-obligation quotes from reviewed, rated & trusted Pre Purchase Car Inspection experts in minutes.

I need
In
  • Powered by Google
available now
available now

Best rated Pre Purchase Car Inspection experts in Canberra

Brendan C

Capital Hill ACT

(6)

Latest Review

"Reliable and responsive "

Verified Badges

Mobile Verified

Paul M

Capital Hill ACT

(133)

Latest Review

"This was the 1st time I looked into buying a car and hired a mechanic for an inspection. Paul was absolutely a delight to deal with and his decades of..."

Verified Badges

Digital iD Verified

Mobile Verified

Emre C

Dickson ACT

(27)

Latest Review

"Excellent service "

Verified Badges

Mobile Verified

Dre W

Bonner ACT

(5)

Latest Review

"Dre was super responsive, quick and thorough for my pre-purchase inspection , would highly recommend!"

Verified Badges

Mobile Verified

Nicholas B

Kingston ACT

(57)

Latest Review

"Job wonderfully done and super pleasant to communicate with. Thank you! "

Verified Badges

Digital iD Verified

Mobile Verified

Facebook Verified

LinkedIn Verified

Now Available!
  • Get it done now. Pay later.
  • Repay in 4 fortnightly instalments
  • No interest
  • Available on payments up to $1,500

Recent Pre Purchase Car Inspection reviews in Canberra

"Legend! Great, easy to deal with. Super friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend. "

Mechanic for Car Inspection

$75

"Dre was super responsive, quick and thorough for my pre-purchase inspection , would highly recommend!"

Pre purchase car inspection

$160

"Great communicator, excellent feedback, would definitely recommend as a reliable Airtasker for pre-purchase inspections"

I need pre purchase car inspection

$150

"Looking forward. "

Install car port on the deck, inspection only

$5

"Paul was very professional and explained things too me. He checked the car thoroughly and found an issue that would have costed me a fortune to fix that I would have missed. I would highly recommend Paul to anyone who is looking to buy a car. I would not hesitate to use his service again. "

Pre purchase car inspection

$150

"Paul conducted a pre-purchase inspection. He was great! Gave me all the info I needed and was very thorough. Would recommend him for anyone looking to purchase a vehicle. "

I need pre purchase car inspection

$150

What's the average cost of a Pre Purchase Car Inspection specialist in Canberra

$110 - $160

low

$110

median

$150

high

$160

Average reviews for Pre Purchase Car Inspection Services in Canberra

based on 13 reviews

5

13
0
0
0
0

What is Airtasker?

1

Post your task

Tell us what you need, it's FREE to post.

2

Review offers

Get offers from trusted Taskers and view profiles.

3

Get it done

Choose the right person for your task and get it done.

Now Available!
  • Get it done now. Pay later.
  • Repay in 4 fortnightly instalments
  • No interest
  • Available on payments up to $1,500

What does a pre purchase car inspection include?

Cars are usually sold with a roadworthy certificate, but this only means your car is safe to drive on public roads. A pre purchase car inspection is the only way to make sure there are no surprises when you drive away. A qualified mechanic will do a visual inspection, mechanical check, and test drive to spot any current or potential problems. They will also be aware of concerns that might be typical for the make or model of the car you’re buying and look specifically for those issues. Your mechanic will usually follow a comprehensive pre purchase car inspection checklist to help you make an informed decision about buying the car. Some of these checks will include:

Exterior inspection

The outside of a car is good indication of how well the car has been looked after. Panel damage or evidence of repaired damage could indicate the car has been in serious accident. A pre purchase car inspection will show whether repairs have been performed to a satisfactory standard. An exterior check also includes checks for rust and structural integrity as these issues may cause problems down the track.

Interior inspection

Your mechanic will conduct a visual inspection of the car’s interior, starting with seats and door trims. Then they’ll check all features inside the car operate normally, including lights, seats, seat belts, air conditioning, central locking, wipers, and windows. Next they’ll check the dashboard instruments and gauges.

Mechanical inspection

Hidden mechanical problems are one of the pitfalls of buying a used car. And there’s no way of finding out the full extent of any car problems without pulling the engine apart. But an experienced mechanic can identify issues from just a visual check of the underbody and engine. Serious mechanical problems may also show themselves in other areas of the car. Brakes, suspension, wheels, tyres, gearbox, and steering will be checked, and a test drive will help to identify any additional concerns. Your mechanic will pay attention to electrical and cooling systems, as well as the alternator and battery. They will run a diagnostic scan to identify any other issues.

History check

You can make sure your new purchase isn’t hiding any secrets, and that it’s not at risk of repossession by including a history check as part of your pre purchase car inspection. A history check (or REVS check) show any finance owing on the vehicle, if the car has been stolen, or whether it’s been in a major accident and written off. These records are kept and attached to your car’s vehicle identification number (VIN).

Recent Pre Purchase Car Inspection tasks in Canberra

Mechanical Inspection for my car

$150

Wright ACT, Australia

17th Jan 2021

I am selling a car privately and want to have an up to date inspection on hand to provide buyers with an honest appraisal of the vehicle. Need it done by Tuesday Jan 19, but the sooner, the better. Today if possible, or tomorrow after 5pm. Can work from home on Tuesday, so car would be available then.

Mechanic needed - car inspection

$50

Hawker ACT, Australia

13th Jan 2021

I’m buying a second-hand car and need a mechanic to come with me for a preliminary inspection. What’s the catch? The sale is tomorrow! SUPER short notice, I know. Car: 1997 Hyundai Lantra, 170k on the clock. If your available tomorrow (Thursday 13 Jan) at 12:00PM for an hour, I’d greatly appreciate your professional expertise. Inspection is in Hawker. Thanks I’m advance.

I need pre purchase car inspection

$100

Bruce ACT 2617, Australia

9th Jan 2021

I'm an inexperienced driver planning to buy my first car. There’s a Nissan Micra I viewed on Facebook located in Belconnen, I have paid a visit to check and test-drive with my boyfriend. The car made a high-pitch noise while driving and I have no clue what that could be. Boyfriend thought it was not a big deal and still worth buying at the seller's quote of $3600. Before our visit, my friend searched the number plate for me and found that the seller said it’s a 2015’s model but it’s actually a 2012’s one. And upon our visit, we got to know that the seller didn't have a service book, either a rego for the car. As neither of us is a car expert, before I make any decision, I still want to have a final check on the car. I tried to contact autos around Bel but they either required us to bring the car in, or they shut earlier than we would finish work, or no availability until two weeks later. Therefore, I would like to find a mechanic here to check the car and test drive it with me, preferably today or tomorrow around 6 pm. I will need your knowledge to tell me if the car got any issues and if it's worthwhile to buy it or not. Thanks!

This was the 1st time I looked into buying a car and hired a mechanic for an inspection. Paul was absolutely a delight to deal with and his decades of experience offered everything you could ask to know bout cars and more I didn’t end up buying the car I got Paul to help me look into. For that I actually wanna say a big thank you to him, for saving me tons of headaches and times and money that I would have gotten myself into, lol He’s a timely professional mechanic with keen eyes looking for details and suspicions, full of knowledge logic and FUN He explained those very complicated car things during our test drive in an easy-to-understand way, so I got to know the current and future related issues with the car He helped me negotiated with the seller, also warned them bout the car’s issue (dunno if it made any sense to them tho cos they seemed to just want the $) He also spent ++ time giving me insights bout buying used cars and stuff Was just a delight to work with. Highly recommended!

I need pre purchase car inspection

$150

Petersham NSW, Australia

5th Jan 2021

Mazda 3 SP 25 potential purchase from private seller

Great communicator, excellent feedback, would definitely recommend as a reliable Airtasker for pre-purchase inspections

I need pre purchase car inspection

$40

Banks ACT, Australia

29th Dec 2020

I need a pre-purchase inspection for 2007 Model, Mazda CX-7. It's at 59, Banks Circuit & will like the inspection for Wednesday, 30th Dec 2020 in the afternoon

Pre purchase Vehicle Inspection

$100

Torrens ACT, Australia

13th Dec 2020

Pre-purchase vehicle inspection of LEXUS hybrid SUV

Pre purchase car inspection

$160

South Yarra VIC, Australia

16th Nov 2020

Audi A1 2017 model that I’ve put a deposit on and will purchase pending an inspection. It is at Lennocks Used Cars Canberra Thank you Maria

Dre was super responsive, quick and thorough for my pre-purchase inspection , would highly recommend!

Pre purchase car inspection

$100

Canberra ACT, Australia

16th Jan 2021

purchasing 2008 toyota Aurion Presara, need to do pre purhase car inspection

I need pre purchase car inspection

$100

Weston ACT, Australia

12th Jan 2021

I need pre purchase car inspection in Weston, ACT. I live in Melbourne, buying the car sight unseen. Need an inspection completed to let me know if the car has any issues and if it is a good car. Also require lots of photos. Thanks.

Very detailed inspection, great communication. Highly recommend

I need pre purchase car inspection

$200

Calwell ACT, Australia

7th Jan 2021

I need an inspection report for classic car that I am about to purchase. Details can be discussed

Aiden was really quick to go to inspection and report was sent within hours of inspection with very detailed itemised and easy to understand format. I would recommend him for vehicle inspections. All the best Aiden.

I need pre purchase car inspection

$100

Belconnen ACT, Australia

5th Jan 2021

I just got my p plate and am planning to buy my first car. There’s a Nissan Micra I viewed on Facebook, located in Belconnen, that I’m interested to buy, but I have no clue how the car is. My friend searched the number plate for me and found that the seller said it’s a 2015’s model but it’s actually 2012’s one. Still I’m interested because the price seemed cheap. I would like to have a mechanic to go with me to check the car and test drive it with me. I will need your knowledge to tell me if the car got any issues and if I should buy it or not. Lol. Thanks!

Pre purchase vehicle inspection

$300

Kambah ACT, Australia

23rd Dec 2020

I need a full pre-purchase vehicle inspection, body, mechanical etc for a 2009 BMW 335i E92. The seller is in Canberra, available from 12pm-6pm tomorrow or next Tue/Wed.

Aiden performed an inspection of a BMW 335i for me over the busy xmas season, very professional, timely and thorough. I would highly recommend his services

I need pre purchase car inspection

$80

Canberra ACT, Australia

7th Dec 2020

I need pre purchase car inspection

I need pre purchase car inspection

$150

Harrison ACT, Australia

20th Jan 2021

I need a pre purchase inspection done. It is a 2014 Renault Van

Car safety inspection + service if necessary

$50

Canberra ACT 2601, Australia

13th Jan 2021

Just got a little 2006 nissan c11. Passed roadworthy. But wants a second opinion and service if necessary.

Richie is very patient and polite. Inspected my little 2006 NISSAN sedan thoroughly and gave me honest and professional opinions. Highly recommended.

Car pre-purchase inspection (mechanics only)

$150

Bonython ACT 2905, Australia

10th Jan 2021

I am interested in purchasing a used Hyundai i30 located in Bonython ACT. I need a mechanic to help inspect the car - I am mainly trying to spot/avoid Major issues with transmission, gear box etc. Apart from a comprehensive pre purchase inspection. The preferred inspection time is coming Tuesday 5.30pm. But if you are available any other time pls mention in your quote.

Richie was a real professional, he had all the tools, very knowledgeable and did a great job. Highly recommended him.

Volkswagon golf pre purchase inspection

$100

Holder ACT 2611, Australia

5th Jan 2021

I need a comprehensive pre-purchase inspection for a volks wagon golf located in Holder (ACT) . It has to be done at the car location between 5.30pm to 6.30pm on the 6th of jan. The owner mentioned there is a rattling sound when he turns on the car, then the engine settles down, maybe you could check this.

Good communication, on time. Checked the car very well

I need pre purchase car inspection

$300

Calwell ACT, Australia

4th Jan 2021

Need to check if there is any rust on the car

I need pre purchase car inspection

$80

Turner ACT, Australia

14th Dec 2020

2017 lexus has full service history. seems to be in great condition. I would need a mobile service.

I need pre purchase car inspection

$150

Phillip ACT 2606, Australia

17th Nov 2020

Pre-purchase vehicle inspection in Farrer ACT. The vehicle is a 2014 Mazda 2 Maxx.

Paul conducted a pre-purchase inspection. He was great! Gave me all the info I needed and was very thorough. Would recommend him for anyone looking to purchase a vehicle.